Mathieu Giroux first Canadian long tracker in action in Sochi

Mathieu Giroux Canadian long tracker Sochi  2014

Men’s 5,000m opens schedule Saturday, Feb. 8

Sochi, Russia, Feb. 7, 2014 –  Mathieu Giroux of Pointe-aux-trembles, Que., will be the first Canadian long track speed skater to compete at the 2014 Winter Olympics.

Giroux will skate in the men’s 5,000m metres on Saturday, Feb. 8 at 6:30 a.m ET/4:30 a.m. Mountain. It is the opening long track event of the Games.

Giroux is part of a 17-member Canadian long track team competing in Sochi. He will also skate as part of the men’s pursuit team on Feb. 21.

For a complete schedule of Olympic broadcasts by day and region: http://olympics.cbc.ca/broadcast-schedule/day=2014-02-13/index.html

Also scheduled to race for Canada in the following events (all times Eastern):

Sunday, Feb. 9
6:30 a.m. 
Women’s 3,000m
 —  Ivanie Blondin, Ottawa; Brittany Schussler, Winnipeg.

Monday, Feb. 10
8 a.m
Men’s 500m
 —  William Dutton, Humboldt, Sask.; Jamie Gregg, Edmonton; Gilmore Junio, Calgary; Muncef Ouardi, Quebec.

Tuesday, Feb. 11
7:45 a.m.
Women’s 500m
 — Anastasia Bucsis, Calgary; Marsha Hudey, White City, Sask.; Christine Nesbitt, London, Ont.; Danielle Wotherspoon-Gregg, Red Deer, Alta.

Wednesday, Feb. 12
9 a.m.
Men’s 1000m
 — Vincent de Haitre, Cumberland, Ont.; Dutton; Junio; Ouardi.

Thursday, Feb. 13
9 a.m.
Women’s 1000m
 — Kali Christ, Regina; Kaylin Irvine, Calgary; Nesbitt; Schussler.

Saturday, Feb. 15
8:30 a.m.
Men’s 1500m
 — de Haitre; Giroux; Lucas Makowsky, Regina; Denny Morrison, Fort St. John, B.C.

Sunday, Feb. 16
9 a.m.
Women’s 1500m
 — Christ; Nesbitt; Schussler; Brianne Tutt, Airdrie, Alta.

Wednesday, Feb. 19
8:30 a.m.
Women’s 5000m
 — Blondin.

Friday, Feb. 21
8:30 a.m.

Men’s team pursuit (quarterfinal) — Giroux; Makowsky; Morrison.

Friday, Feb. 21
9:23 a.m.
Women’s team pursuit (quarterfinal)
 — Blondin, Christ, Nesbitt; Schussler (3 of 4 to skate).

Friday, Feb. 21
10:13 a.m.
Men’s team pursuit (semifinal)

Saturday, Feb. 22
8:30 a.m.
Women’s team pursuit (semifinal)

Saturday, Feb. 22
8:51 a.m.
Men’s team pursuit (final)

Saturday, Feb. 22
8:14 am.
Women’s team pursuit (final)