Speed Skating Canada announces 2018 Annual Award Winners

Kim Boutin, Ivanie Blondin, Ted-Jan Bloemen and Samuel Girard named Athletes of the Year
Calgary, June 15, 2018 – Speed Skating Canada is pleased to announce its 2018 annual award winners which were unveiled Friday, June 15, at its Awards Reception held in Calgary during its Annual General Meeting.
The recipients were elected based on nominations put forth by Speed Skating Canada’s members and committees.

Short Track Speed Skater Samuel Bélanger-Marceau retires from competition

Montreal, June 12, 2018 – National Development Short Track Speed Skating Team member since the 2014-2015 season, Samuel Bélanger-Marceau from Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC, announced his retirement from competition.
Bélanger-Marceau, age 26, represented Canada on the international stage at two ISU World Cups, in Salt Lake City and in Montreal in the fall of 2014, as well as at the 2013 Winter Universiade in Italy. He also took part in the Olympic Trials for the 2014 and 2018 Games.

Derrick Campbell steps down as coach of the Canadian men's short track team

Montreal, June 7, 2018 – Derrick Campbell has announced that he has stepped down as coach of the Canadian men's short track speed skating team.
Head of the men's national program since the 2006-2007 season, Campbell decided to pursue new challenges as part of the Chinese team, as China prepares to host the Olympic Games in 2022 in Beijing.

Olympic champion in short track relay François Hamelin officially announces his retirement

Montreal, June 5, 2018 – François Hamelin from Sainte-Julie, QC, a member of the Canadian men's relay team in short track speed skating that won the gold medal at the 2010 Olympic Games in Vancouver, officially announced his retirement today.
François Hamelin, age 31, won two medals in the relay event at the World Junior Championships, in 2005 and 2006, before joining Canada's senior national team for the 2007-2008 season.