Peter Williamson Bursary

In 1992, the Board of Directors of Speed Skating Canada (SSC) unanimously endorsed the establishment of a trust fund in memory of Peter Williamson (1946-1991), which has been used since then to offer two (2) annual bursaries of $1,500 each to deserving and promising speed skaters.

  • One (1) bursary is available for a short track skater on the national or development team
  • One (1) bursary is available for a long track skater on the national or NextGen team

The late Peter Williamson was a champion skater and member of Canada's Olympic team at the 1968 Winter Games in Grenoble, France. He later coached the Manitoba provincial team and occupied the role of Technical Director for both the Manitoba Speed Skating Association and the Canadian Amateur Speed Skating Association. He was inducted into the SSC Hall of Fame as a builder in 1992 and his family (Williamson-Derraugh Family) received the Gagné Family Award in 2019, which celebrates families that have made an exceptional contribution to the development of our sport.

Williamson was very much aware of the importance of a good education. He was of the opinion that sport and education, in varying forms, could be combined to truly stimulate success in each other. Since being established in 1992, the Peter Williamson Memorial Bursary has supported the educational pursuits of over 70 national team athletes, many of whom have gone off to represent Canada on the World Cup circuit and at the Olympic Games. 

2019 Award Information

For more information on the 2019 Peter Williamson Memorial Bursary, including how to apply for the award, please consult the documents below. All applications must be submitted by midnight EST on Sunday, September 15, 2019.


Past Award Recipients

YearLong TrackCity, ProvinceShort TrackCity, Province
2019Connor HoweCanmore, ABMathieu BernierMontreal, QC
2018Isabelle WeidemannOttawa, ONSteven DuboisLachenaie, QC
2017Alexandre St-JeanQuebec, QCPascal DionMontreal, QC
2016Alex Boisvert-Lacroix
Richard Maclennan
Sherbrooke, QC
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Patrick Duffy
Valérie Maltais
Oakville, ON
La Baie, QC
2015Ivanie BlondinOttawa, ONSamuel Bélanger-MarceauSaint-Bruno de Montarville, QC
 Alec JanssensChilliwack, B.C.Namasthée Harris-GauthierMontréal, QC
2014Tori SpenceKamloops, B.C.Sébastien LandryMontréal, QC
 Richard MacLennanSault Ste. Marie, ON  
 Tyler Williamson-DerraughWinnipeg, MB  
2013Alec JanssensChilliwack, B.C.Alexandre St. JeanQuebec City
 Lauren McGuireOttawaGabrielle WaddellRed Deer, Alta.
2012Laurent DurbeuilLevis, Que.François HamelinSainte-Julie, Que.
 Brittany SchusslerWinnipegValerie LambertSherbrooke, Que.
2011Danielle WotherspoonRed Deer, Alta.Gabrielle WaddellRed Deer, Alta.
 Jamie GreggEdmontonGuillaume BastilleRivière-du-Loup, Que.
2010Lucas MakowskyReginaGuillaume BastilleRivière-du-Loup, Que.
 François-Olivier RobergeSt-Nicolas, Que.Valerie LambertSherbrooke, Que.
2009Vincent LabrieSt-Romuald, Que.Guillaume BastilleRivière-du-Loup, Que.
   Alex Boisvert-LacroixSherbrooke, Que.
   Valerie LambertSherbrooke, Que.
2008Lucas MakowskyReginaAndrea Do-DucMontreal
   Mathieu GirouxPointe-aux-Trembles, Que.
2007Lucas MakowskyReginaJean-François MonettePointe-aux-Trembles, Que.
   Valerie LambertSherbrooke, Que.
   Annik PlamondonLongueuil, Que.
2006Cailean DugganOttawaAnnik PlamondonLongueuil, Que.
   Anne MaltaisQuebec
   Jean-François MonettePointe-aux-Trembles, Que.
2005Mark JesneySaskatoonMathieu GirouxMontreal
 Shannon SiboldCalgaryAnouk Leblanc-BoucherPrevost, Que.
2004  Emilie Nadeau-BenoîtMontreal
   Mathieu GirouxMontreal
2003Marilou AsselinSainte-Foy, Que.Melanie GagnonMontreal
 Jean-Rene BelangerSherbrooke, Que.Olivier JeanMontreal
1999Jean-Rene BelangerFleurimont, Que.Jeffrey ScholtenFredericton, N.B.
1998Valerie LemieuxMontrealAndrea SearlesFredericton, N.B.
1997Kristina GrovesOttawaPatrick NusseyFredericton, N.B.
1996Sylvain BouchardSainte-Foy, Que.Carol Anne ChenardGloucester, Ont.
1995Jason ParkerMelville, Sask.Andrea SearlesFredericton, N.B.
1994Scott Van HorneWinnipegValerie CavarOttawa
1993David AllardiceWestfield, N.B.  
1992Karina MarceauCharlesbourg, Que.