Long Track Athlete of the Year

This trophy, first awarded in 1968 by SSC, was presented annually to the male or female skater in long track having the most outstanding performance of the year. In 1985, the award was changed to include the top male and female athletes. In 2019, the award criteria were changed to reflect the growing importance of athlete excellence in areas other than skating performance.

This award is presented in the following categories:

  • Catriona Le May Doan Award (Female Long Track Athlete of the Year)
  • Jeremy Wotherspoon Award (Male Long Track Athlete of the Year)

Selection Criteria

The Athlete of the Year recognition is awarded to an athlete who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to success during the season through:

  • Outstanding performance at national or international competitions (*see note in Eligibility section below)
  • Dedication to the training program
  • Demonstration of integrity and commitment to Speed Skating Canada values
  • Continued growth and development in physical and technical knowledge and abilities
  • Support and encouragement of teammates
  • Contributions to sport or community development


To be eligible for an Athlete of the Year award, athletes must have competed in a minimum of one national or international level competition in the current season and must be a member in good standing of Speed Skating Canada. 

* Exceptionally for the 2020-2021 Awards Program, athletes who were unable to participate in competitions during the current season due to the COVID-19 pandemic remain eligible for the Athlete of the Year Award and will be evaluated based on the other selection criteria outlined above.

Athletes do not need to be members of the SSC National Team program to be considered for these awards; club and provincial-level athletes are also eligible. 

Individuals may receive an Athlete of the Year award more than once. A maximum of one (1) winner will be selected for each award in a given year.

Past Winners

2020Ivanie Blondin (ON)Graeme Fish (SK)
2019Isabelle Weidemann (ON)Hubert Marcotte (QC)
2018Ivanie BlondinTed-Jan Bloemen
2017Ivanie BlondinVincent De Haître
2016Ivanie BlondinTed-Jan Bloemen
2015Ivanie BlondinDenny Morrison & Laurent Dubreuil
2014Brittany SchusslerDenny Morrison
2013Christine NesbittJamie Gregg
2012Christine NesbittDenny Morrison
2011Christine NesbittLucas Makowsky
2010Kristina GrovesDenny Morrison
2009Kristina GrovesDenny Morrison
2008Kristina Groves

Denny Morrison & Jeremy Wotherspoon

2007Cindy KlassenDenny Morrison
2006Cindy KlassenDenny Morrison
2005Cindy KlassenJeremy Wotherspoon
2004Clara HughesJeremy Wotherspoon
2003Cindy KlassenJeremy Wotherspoon
2002Catriona Le May DoanJeremy Wotherspoon

Cindy Klassen & Catriona Le May Doan

Mike Ireland & Jeremy Wotherspoon

2000Catriona Le May DoanJeremy Wotherspoon
1999Catriona Le May DoanJeremy Wotherspoon
1998Catriona Le May DoanJeremy Wotherspoon
1997Catriona Le May DoanNeal Marshall
1996Catriona Le May DoanNeal Marshall
1995Susan AuchNeal Marshall
1994Susan AuchKevin Scott
1993Susan AuchSean Ireland
1992Susan AuchGuy Thibault
1991Susan AuchSean Ireland
1990Susan AuchKevin Scott
1989Shelley RheadGuy Thibault
1988Shelley RheadJean Pichette
1987Natalie GrenierBenoît Lamarche
1986Nathalie LambertGuy Thibault
1985Anne GirardGaétan Boucher

Outstanding Athlete of the Year


Sylvie Daigle & Guy Daignault


Sylvie Daigle & Louis Grenier


Maryse Perrault, Guy Daignault & Gaétan Boucher

1981Benoît Baril
1980Gaétan Boucher
1979Gaétan Boucher
1978Sylvia Burka
1977Sylvia Burka
1976Sylvia Burka
1975Cathy Priestner
1974Sylvia Burka
1973Sylvia Burka
1972Sylvia Burka
1971Gerry Cassan
1970Sylvia Burka