Short Track Athlete of the Year

This trophy, first awarded in 1968 by SSC, was presented annually to the male or female skater in long track having the most outstanding performance of the year. In 1985, the award was changed to include the top male and female in long track and the top male and female in short track. In 2019, the award criteria were changed to reflect the growing importance of athlete excellence in areas other than skating performance.

This award is presented to SSC’s best skaters in the following categories:

  • Nathalie Lambert Award (Female Short Track Athlete of the Year)
  • Marc Gagnon Award (Male Short Track Athlete of the Year)

Selection Criteria

The Athlete of the Year recognition is awarded to an athlete who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to success during the season through:

  • Outstanding performance at national or international competitions (*see note in Eligibility section below)
  • Dedication to the training program
  • Demonstration of integrity and commitment to Speed Skating Canada values
  • Continued growth and development in physical and technical knowledge and abilities
  • Support and encouragement of teammates
  • Contributions to sport or community development


To be eligible for an Athlete of the Year award, athletes must have competed in a minimum of one national or international level competition in the current season and must be a member in good standing of Speed Skating Canada. 

* Exceptionally for the 2020-2021 Awards Program, athletes who were unable to participate in competitions during the current season due to the COVID-19 pandemic remain eligible for the Athlete of the Year Award and will be evaluated based on the other selection criteria outlined above.

Athletes do not need to be members of the SSC National Team program to be considered for these awards; club and provincial-level athletes are also eligible. 

Individuals may receive an Athlete of the Year award more than once. A maximum of one (1) winner will be selected for each award in a given year.

Past Winners

2020Kim Boutin (QC)Steven Dubois (QC)
2019Alex Lepage Farrell (QC)Samuel Girard (QC)
2018Kim BoutinSamuel Girard
2017Marianne St-GelaisSamuel Girard
2016Marianne St-GelaisCharles Hamelin
2015Marianne St-GelaisCharles Hamelin
2014Valérie MaltaisCharles Hamelin
2013Marianne St-GelaisCharles Hamelin
2012Valérie MaltaisOlivier Jean
2011Marianne St. GelaisCharles Hamelin
2010Marianne St. GelaisCharles Hamelin
2009Jessica GreggCharles Hamelin
2008Kalyna RobergeCharles Hamelin
2007Kalyna RobergeCharles Hamelin
2006Anouk Leblanc-BoucherFrançois-Louis Tremblay
2005Amanda OverlandCharles Hamelin
2004Tania VicentJonathan Guilmette
2003Amélie Goulet-NadonJean-François Monette
2002Alanna KrausMarc Gagnon
2001Marie-Ève DroletMarc Gagnon
2000Marie-Ève DroletFrançois-Louis Tremblay
1999Marie-Ève DroletFrançois-Louis Tremblay
1998Annie Perrault

Men's relay team (Marc Gagnon, Éric Bédard, François Drolet, Derrick Campbell, Mathieu Turcotte)

1997Isabelle CharestMarc Gagnon
1996Isabelle CharestMarc Gagnon
1995Isabelle CharestMarc Gagnon
1994Nathalie LambertMarc Gagnon
1993Nathalie LambertMarc Gagnon
1992Nathalie LambertFrédérick Blackburn
1991Sylvie Daigle & Nathalie LambertMark Lackie
1990Nathalie LambertSylvain Gagnon
1989Sylvie DaigleMichel Daignault
1988Sylvie DaigleMichel Daignault
1987Nathalie LambertMichel Daignault
1986Maryse PerreaultGuy Daignault
1985Sylvie DaigleLouis Grenier

Outstanding Athlete of the Year

1984Sylvie Daigle & Guy Daignault
1983Sylvie Daigle & Louis Grenier
1982Maryse Perrault, Guy Daignault & Gaétan Boucher
1981Benoît Baril
1980Gaétan Boucher
1979Gaétan Boucher
1978Sylvia Burka
1977Sylvia Burka
1976Sylvia Burka
1975Cathy Priestner
1974Sylvia Burka
1973Sylvia Burka
1972Sylvia Burka
1971Gerry Cassan
1970Sylvia Burka