Coach of the Year

The Jack Walters Coach of the Year award is presented to a coach who has demonstrated meaningful, long-term involvement at the club, regional, provincial or national level.

Selection Criteria

Winners are not selected for this award based on athlete results. 

Nominees for the Jack Walters Award will have displayed sustained leadership within the coaching environment, at either the grassroots or high-performance level, as evidenced by the following achievements:

  • Presents a positive public image of the role coaching plays in the sport of speed skating
  • Supports and mentors other coaches to ensure the continued development of the coaching system
  • Contributes to the advancement of the sport by presenting courses or clinics, writing publications, sitting on committees, etc.
  • Creates a positive and safe training environment for all
  • Demonstrates innovation and care in the development of both sport and life skills in athletes
  • Adapted programming and coaching techniques to keep skaters active and engaged throughout the COVID-19 pandemic 

Past Recipients

2020Gregor JelonekSt-Antoine-de-Tilly, QC  
2019Karine ProteauSherbrooke, QC  
2018Frédéric BlackburnSaguenay, QC  
2017Bart SchoutenCalgary, AB  
2016Gregor JelonekSt-Antoine-de-Tilly, QC  
2015Derrick MacLeodFredericton, N.B.  
2014Derrick Campbell   
2013Derrick Campbell Montreal Shawna Pearman Ponoka, Alta.
2012Gregor JelonekQuebec City  
2011Derrick CampbellMontreal  
 Male Female 
2010Olympic Team Coaches Olympic Team Coaches 
2009Sébastien CrosMontrealXiuli WangCalgary
2008no recipient Xiuli WangCalgary
2007Robert TremblaySt. Romuald, Que.Xiuli WangCalgary
2006Neal MarshallCalgaryXiuli WangCalgary
2005Martin GagnéMontrealXiuli WangCalgary
2004Marcel LacroixCalgaryAriane LoignonSainte-Foy, Que.
2003Rod JohnstonMoose Jaw, Sask.  
2002Guy ThibaultLe Gardeur, Que.Moira D'AndreaCalgary
2001Guy ThibaultLe Gardeur, Que.Sandi Vyse-LloydKamloops, B.C.
2000Gregor JelonekSt. Etienne, Que.Dalphena SnivelyFort St. James, B.C.
1999Roberg TremblaySt. Romuald, Que.Anne MushumanskiWinnipeg
1998Derrick AuchCalgarySherry WhiteStratford, P.E.I.
1997Robert TremblaySt. Romuald, Que.Bette RobertsAbbotsford, B.C.
1996Robert TremblaySt. Romuald, Que.Margaret AtkinsonSaint John, N.B.
1995  Ingrid PaulCalgary
1994  Iris FletcherRegina
1993Guy ThibaultMontrealDebra FisherFredericton, N.B.
1992Robert TremblaySt. Romuald, Que.Lisa GannettCambridge, Ont.
1990Larry ShepelSaskatoon  
1991Dr. François GougouxSainte-Foy, Que.Lisa GannettCambridge, Ont.