Officials Award of Excellence

The Guy Marcoux Officials Award of Excellence is awarded to those who have made meaningful contributions to the sport of speed skating in the role of official.

Selection Criteria

This award is intended to recognize officiating excellence within a given year and may be bestowed upon an individual based on one or more of the following criteria:

  • Exceptional contribution to the competition system during the season
  • Demonstration of problem-solving techniques and contribution of ideas to improve the role of officials
  • Remained active within the officiating community throughout the COVID-19 pandemic
  • Enhanced or refined their skill set by participating in professional development opportunities offered through SSC or other organizations


Past Recipients

2020Sylvain Anctil (Que.), Eric Beauschene (Man.) and Yves Michaud (Que.) 
2019Tina Peters (BC), Sylvain Pigeon (QC), Richard Thériault (QC)  
2018Brad BatesCalgary, AB
2017Richard ThériaultRivière-du-Loup, QC
2016Rocky Lamontagne
Yvon Tremblay
Ottawa, ON
Laval, QC
2015Robin Greig
Ariadne Holness de Hiller
Shirley Hons
Yellowknife, NT
Prince George, B.C.
Calgary, AB
2014Michel DumontQuébec
2013Mario CaronQuebec
 Rod FisherAlberta
2012Mario HardyQuebec
 Cynthia OnionsYukon
2011Sharon ZormanAlberta
2010John WalshOntario
2009Darlene ChapmenBritish Columbia
2009Ghislaine RoyQuébec