Gagné Family Award

This award was established by John V. Sands, former 1956 and 1960 Olympic Speed Skater. The Gagné Family Award was first presented in 1996.

This award, which will not necessarily be granted every year, will be bestowed upon a family who has made an outstanding contribution to the development of the sport of speed skating in Canada.

Nomination form and outline (click here)

Past recipients

YearFamilyCity, Province
2018Walsh FamilyKitchener-Waterloo, ON
2017Morrison FamilyFort St. John, B.C.
2016Cole FamilyFredericton, N.-B.
2015Stickel FamilyFort St. John, B.C.
2014Proteau/Lemay FamilySherbrooke, QC
2013Gregg FamilyEdmonton
2012Daignault FamilyMontreal
2011Holthuis FamilyCalgary
2010Lambert FamilyMontreal
2009Terstappen FamilyCalgary
2008Lamarche FamilyQuebec City
2007Gilday FamilyYellowknife
2006Wotherspoon FamilyRed Deer, Alta.
2005Laberge FamilySainte-Foy, Que.
2004Thobo-Carlsen FamilyFort St. James, B.C.
2003MacLeod FamilyRiverview, N.B.
2002Templeton FamilyMoose Jaw, Sask.
2001Grenier FamilyQuebec City
2000Marshall FamilyCoquitlam, B.C.
1999Overend FamilySalmon Arm, B.C.
1997Mackay-Goplen FamilySaskatoon
1996Pierre Gagné FamilySainte-Foy, Que.