Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award

Generously sponsored by SSC’s longstanding partner, the Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award recognizes the contributions of local speed skating clubs to the development of our sport and the importance of grassroots programs to high-performance success.

Selection Criteria

This award is bestowed upon a club that has undertaken an initiative in the past year or has concrete plans to undertake an initiative in the next year that aligns with SSC’s strategic objectives of Sport Excellence and/or Organizational Excellence. 

Examples of initiatives that meet the criteria for this award include:

  • Sport Excellence: safety enhancements, coach development initiatives, purchase of new equipment, athlete training camps, inclusion efforts, etc.
  • Organizational Excellence: revenue generation projects, recruitment activities, advertising or promotion strategies, etc.

 Initiatives will be evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • There is an identified need in the local community that this project will address
  • The project will generate a positive impact on speed skating (safety, sport development, participation, awareness, etc.)
  • The project will help the club overcome the challenges and setbacks it faced as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic
  • There is a realistic plan to put the project in place (budget, people, resources, etc.)
  • The project’s success can be measured


Five (5) finalists will be identified each year. From these finalists, one (1) winning club will be selected.

A club may only win the Club Excellence Award a maximum of once every five (5) years but may be considered a finalist for the award in any given year.

To be eligible for the award, a club must be in good standing and not have any outstanding payments due to Speed Skating Canada or its respective PTSO.


The one (1) winning club will receive a $10,000 grand prize and a visit from two (2) National Team athletes during the 2021-2022 season.

The remaining four (4) finalists will each receive a $2,500 cash prize. 

Past Recipients

2020 WinnerIqaluit Speed Skating Club (NU) 
2020 Finalists

Calgary Speed Skating Association (AB), CPV West Island Cyclones (QC), Peninsula Speed Skating Club (BC), Yellowknife Speed Skating Club (NT)

2019 WinnerCalgary Grizzlies Speed Skating Club (AB)
2019 FinalistsAnnapolis Valley Speed Skating Club (NS), Club de patinage de vitesse Centre-Sud (QC), Kingston Striders Speed Skating Club (ON), Club de patinage de vitesse Sherbrooke (QC)