Jean Grenier Award

Named in honour of Jean Grenier, a long-time volunteer to speed skating in Canada and a Canadian representative in the International Skating Union (ISU), this award was first established in 1999 and recognizes the importance of volunteers to our sport.

In 2019, the Jean Grenier Award was combined with the former Jean R. Dupré Award to incorporate the invaluable contributions of our administrators to the speed skating community. 

Selection Criteria

The Jean Grenier Award is bestowed upon an outstanding volunteer or administrator who has made invaluable contributions to the betterment of our sport. Winners of this award are unsung heroes who work/worked tirelessly in capacities similar, but not limited to:

  • Planning of competitions, clinics or events
  • Activities to increase awareness, promote participation or foster athlete development
  • Involvement with an executive or committee at the club, branch or national level
  • Any other long-term initiative to advance speed skating in Canada
  • Helped their speed skating community adapt to the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic

Past Recipients

YearRecipientCity, Province


Jean-Philippe Lemay

Sherbrooke, QC
2019John ThorpeCalgary, AB 
2018Claude FauteuxMontreal, QC
2017Nathalie LambertMontreal, QC
2014Sandra ChenardOttawa, ON
2011Gilles DufourMontreal
2010Michel VerraultLac-Beauport, Que.
2008Roger FradetteChicoutimi, Que.
2007Nannette Ho CoverntonCalgary
2005Dr. John McCallCollingwood, Ont.
1999Alice HumenyCalgary
1998Catherine HumenyCalgary

Past Recipients of the Jean R. Dupré Award

YearRecipientCity, Province
2018Mario CaronSherbrooke, QC
2017John MaurieIqaluit, NU
2016Lorna HolbechAbbotsford, BC
2015Gordon RogersCharlottetown, PEI
2014Pam Dunbar 
2013Alice HumenyCalgary, AB
2012Glenn HolmesStratford, PEI