The Speed Skating Canada Awards Program is presented annually to deserving individuals in a number of categories. The awards recognize significant contributions and achievements by some of our sport’s most dedicated stakeholders – from athletes and coaches, to officials, volunteers and partners.

This year’s SSC Awards Program will look to recognize nominees who have found unique ways to help members of their speed skating community overcome the challenges brought forth by the COVID-19 pandemic. Be sure to tell us how your nominee adapted their approach to keep our sport active and engaging throughout this difficult time.

Nomination Process

Nominations for all awards can be completed by filling out this online form.

For ease of reference, the questions to be answered for each award can be found in this document, while a list of previous recipients for each award can be found on the award pages of our website.

Selection Process

A panel consisting of the following individuals will be responsible for reviewing all nominations and selecting recipients for each award:

  • Speed Skating Canada President
  • Speed Skating Canada Chief Executive Officer
  • Speed Skating Canada Chief Sport Officer
  • PTSO Representative
  • Club Representative

SSC Advisory Councils (Sport Development, High Performance) will have the opportunity to submit recommendations to the selection panel for awards within their respective areas.


Below are the timelines for the 2020-2021 SSC Awards Program, which includes the nomination period and dates when the finalists and winners will be announced.

  • Nominations Open: April 30
  • Nominations Close: May 23    
  • Selection Committee Meeting: Early June
  • Winners Announced: June-July

Award Presentation

Awards are typically presented during an Awards Gala held in conjunction with the SSC AGM & Congress. Given the uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, SSC made the decision to cancel all in-person meetings and will instead host a virtual AGM in June 2021. As a result, we had to find an alternative way to present awards to the winning recipients that maintains the same level of prestige and recognition of their accomplishments.

This year’s finalists will be unveiled to the speed skating community and general public during the virtual AGM and Congress. The winners in each category will then be revealed on our website and social media channels throughout the summer. We will work with each winner to develop a unique way to profile their accomplishments and contributions to the speed skating community in the digital space.

More Information

If you have any questions or require additional information, please contact Jill Lynch at