2013 Canadian Open Championships

2013 Canadian Open Short Track Championships in Montreal
Media day, event schedule and entry list

– Speed Skating Canada and the Fédération de patinage de vitesse du Québec announced today details regarding the media day, event schedule and entry list for the 2013 Canadian Open Short Track Championships set for the Maurice-Richard Arena from Friday, Jan. 18 to Sunday, Jan. 20.

The media day will take place Wednesday, Jan. 16, at the Maurice-Richard Arena. The skaters from the national and development teams will be on the ice for practice and then available for interviews as follows:
- Women's practice from 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m., followed by media availability.
- Men's practice from 9:45 a.m. to 10:45 a.m., followed by media availability.
- Skaters from the Calgary training centre practice from 11 a.m. to noon, followed by media availability.

The Canadian championships will see the 1,500-metre race take place on Friday, the 500 metres on Saturday, and the 1,000 metres, 3,000 metres and relays on Sunday. Races start at 2 p.m. on Friday and Saturday, and 9:40 a.m. on Sunday. Tickets are $5 each per day, $10 for a three-day package and free for children 12 years of age and under.

The entry list brings together the top 64 short track skaters - 32 men and 32 women. Sixteen (16) men and women qualified through the fall World Cup selections in September and the other skaters earned their spot at the national qualifier in Drummondville, Que., this past December.

There are 46 skaters from Quebec, one from the Northwest Territories, four from British Columbia, five from Alberta, one from Manitoba, six from Ontario and one from Prince Edward Island.

In his last eight Canadian Open Championships, Charles Hamelin, of Sainte-Julie, Que., was champion in 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012 (did not compete in 2006 and 2010 – Olympic years). Valérie Maltais, of La Baie, Que., is the women’s defending champion.

Olivier Jean, of Lachenaie, Que., was ranked second overall coming into the championships but will not be competing. He has recovered from a concussion he suffered during World Cup #3 in Nagoya, Japan, in early December. Jean returned to on-ice training two weeks ago and continues to bring his fitness level back up to full competitive expectations. It is, though, too early for him to take part in high level competition. He will participate in the media availability session.

The Canadian championships serve as the national team selection event for the World Championships in Debrecen, Hungary, from March 8 to 10. This team, including the substitute, will also compete in the final two World Cups. The Canadian team will have the opportunity to familiarize itself with the facilities for the next Olympics with World Cup #5 taking place in Sochi, Russia, from Feb. 1 to 3. For the Olympic host organizing committee, this World Cup will serve as an Olympic test event. The final World Cup of the season will be in Dresden, Germany, from Feb. 8 to 10.

The men’s entry list is as follows – name (ranking - home province):
Charles Hamelin (1st - Quebec), François Hamelin (2nd - Quebec), Michael Gilday (3rd - N.W.T.), Liam McFarlane (4th - Alberta), Guillaume Bastille (5th - Quebec), Charle Cournoyer (6th - Quebec), François-Louis Tremblay (7th - Quebec), Rémi Beaulieu (8th - Quebec), Vincent Cournoyer (9th - Quebec), Patrick Duffy (10th - Quebec), Alexandre St-Jean (11th - Quebec), Pier-Olivier Gagnon (12th - Quebec), Jacob McKenzie (13th - Ontario), Yoan Gauthier (14th - Quebec), Maxime Gauthier (15th - Quebec), Sasha Fathoullin (16th - Alberta), Sébastien Landry (17th - Quebec), David Goulet (18th - Quebec), William Preudhomme (19th - Ontario), Julien Nepveu-Goulet (20th - Quebec), Mikhail-Jeonghan Choi (21st - Alberta), Scott Beamish (22nd - P.E.I.), Samuel Bélanger-Marceau (23rd - Quebec), Samuel Girard (24th - Quebec), Gabriel Maillé (25th - Quebec), Maxime Laoun (26th - Quebec), Jean-Christophe Marando (27th - Quebec), Benjamin Bousquet (28th - Quebec), Vincent Morin (29th - Quebec), Cédrik Blais (30th - Quebec), Dave Belval (31st - Quebec), Olivier Godin (32nd - Quebec)

The women’s entry list is as follows – name (ranking - home province):
Valérie Maltais (1st - Quebec), Marianne St. Gelais (2nd - Quebec), Jessica Hewitt (3rd - B.C.), Caroline Truchon (4th - Quebec), Jessica Gregg (5th - Alberta), Gabrielle Waddell (6th - Alberta), Valérie Lambert (7th - Quebec), Andrea Do-Duc (8th - Quebec), Marie-Eve Drolet (9th - Quebec), Keri Morrison (10th - Ontario), Léa Thibault (11th - Quebec), Audrey Phaneuf (12th - Quebec), Vicky Labourdette (13th - Quebec), Courtney Shmyr (14th - B.C.), Namasthée Harris-Gauthier (15th - Quebec), Genève Belanger (16th - Quebec), Kim Boutin (17th - Quebec), Joannie Gervais (18th - Quebec), Taylor Schmidt (19th - Ontario), Michelle Mackay (20th - B.C.), Aileen Song (21st - Ontario), Cynthia Mascitto (22nd - Quebec), Jamie Macdonald (23rd - B.C.), Tessa Collard (24th - Quebec), Marie-Claude Lemieux (25th - Quebec), Samantha Morrison (26th - Ontario), Valérie Alby (27th - Quebec), Lydiane Cournoyer (28th - Quebec), Amélie Tremblay (29th - Quebec), Elizabeth Gordon (30th - Manitoba), Elizabeth Ward (31st - Quebec), Catherine Desjardins-L (32nd - Quebec)