Canadian long track speed skaters ready for Kazakhstan World Cup Third event on schedule runs Nov. 29-Dec. 1 in Kazakhstan

Calgary, November 27, 2013 – Eleven members of Speed Skating Canada’s World Cup long track team are in Astana, Kazakhstan this week for the third event on the ISU Essent Speed Skating schedule. The World Cup is Nov. 29 to Dec. 1 at the Ice Palace Alau.

Kaylin Irvine of Calgary and William Dutton of Humboldt, Sask., are Canada’s representatives in the 500m. They will also both also take part in the 1000m. Dutton is returning to the track after suffering a 12-stitch laceration below his right knee at the season-opening World Cup at Calgary’s Olympic Oval earlier this month.

Coming off two near-podium performances in Salt Lake City at World Cup #2, Nov. 15-17, Denny Morrison of Fort St. John, B.C., is entered in the 1000m and 1500m. Tyler Derraugh of Winnipeg, Man., is also in the 1000m.

Mathieu Giroux of Pointe-aux-Trembles, Que., skates the 1500m. Toronto’s Jordan Belchos and Alec Janssens of Chilliwack, B.C., are in the 10000m.

Winnipeg’s Brittany Schussler will go after a medal the women’s 1500m. Schussler, Ivanie Blondin of Ottawa and Nicole Garrido of Edmonton are part of the 5000m field.

Skipping Astana is 2010 Olympic 1000m champion Christine Nesbitt of London, Ont., who instead is in Inzell, Germany this week training in advance of the fourth World Cup, scheduled for Berlin, Germany Dec. 6-8. Marsha Hudey and Kali Christ, both of Regina, are also training in Inzell.

Nesbitt won the 1500m in Astana last December and was part of the gold-medal winning women’s Team Pursuit team with Blondin and Schussler. There are no Team Pursuits on the schedule for Astana this year.

Note: Astana is 11 hours ahead of Eastern time zone and 13 hours ahead of Mountain time zone. In Canada the competition begins at 10 p.m. Eastern/8 p.m. Mountain each day on Nov. 28, 29 and 30.

For live results visit

Canadian roster for ISU Essent World Cup, Astana Kazakhstan:



Ivanie Blondin, Ottawa

Nicole Garrido, Edmonton

Kaylin Irvine, Calgary

Brittany Schussler, Winnipeg

Men :

Jordan Belchos, Toronto

Tyler Derraugh, Winnipeg

William Dutton, Humboldt, Sask.

Mathieu Giroux, Pointe-aux-Trembles, Que.

Alec Janssens, Chilliwack, B.C.

Lucas Makowsky, Regina.

Denny Morrison, Fort St. John, B.C.


Athlete bios can be found at : and


Media can obtain images from Getty Images, official photographer of the ISU at