Clara Hughes to be on Canada’s Walk of Fame

Canada’s Walk of Fame and Canwest announced yesterday that Clara Hughes was among the 2010 inductees into the Canada Honours. Hughes, along with six other inductees, will receive her tribute on Saturday, October 16, at Toronto’s Canon Theatre.

Joining the 124 existing inductees, the 2010 honourees (aside from Clara Hughes, David Clayton-Thomas, Nelly Furtado, Doug Henning, Eric McCormack, Farley Mowat and Sarah Polley) will be added to Canada’s Walk of Fame, which annually recognizes individuals for their achievements in various fields.

Potential candidates of Canada’s Walk of Fame must have been born in or spent the totality of their creative or formative years in Canada. A minimum of 10 successful years is required to qualify, as well as a recognized body of work that has had a significant influence on our cultural heritage.

Speed Skating Canada wishes to congratulate Clara Hughes on this latest well deserved accomplishment!