Finalists Revealed for 2019-2020 Speed Skating Canada Awards

Five speed skating clubs in contention for $10,000 grand prize from Intact Insurance to help grow the sport locally

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – The finalists were revealed today for the 2019-2020 Speed Skating Canada Awards, which recognize significant contributions and achievements by some of the sport’s most dedicated stakeholders – from athletes and coaches, to officials, volunteers and partners.

The winners will be unveiled on our website and social media channels throughout the summer.

Members of the Canadian speed skating community submitted nominations for deserving individuals in over a dozen categories, while local speed skating clubs put together compelling applications for the Intact Insurance Club Excellence Award, which distributes $20,000 in funding to clubs undertaking initiatives that will help grow the sport in their communities.

Join us in congratulating this year’s impressive list of award finalists. Recipients for Coaching and Officials Awards of Excellence will also be revealed later this summer.

Hall of Fame

  • Hall of Fame (Athlete): Jean Wilson, Wilfrid Mathieu
  • Hall of Fame (Builder): David Gilday, Marcel Lacroix

Athlete Awards

  • Athlete of the Year Short Track (Female): Kim Boutin, Florence Brunelle
  • Athlete of the Year Short Track (Male): Steven Dubois, William Dandjinou
  • Athlete of the Year Long Track (Female): Ivanie Blondin, Isabelle Weidemann
  • Athlete of the Year Long Track (Male): Graeme Fish, Laurent Dubreuil

Coaching Awards

  • Coach of the Year: Gregor Jelonek, Tyler Williamson Derraugh

Officiating Awards

  • Official of the Year: E Wim Kok, Yves Michaud

Community Awards

  • Volunteer of the Year: Jean-Philippe Lemay, Sue Steckle
  • Gagne Family Award: Shields, Pearman
  • Partner of the Year: Ville de Sherbrooke, Greg Bieber
  • Intact Insurance Club of Excellence Award: Iqaluit Speed Skating Club, CPV West Island Cyclones, Yellowknife Speed Skating Club, Peninsula Speed Skating Club, Calgary Speed Skating Association