Four Canadians officials invited to attend International Skating Union starters course

OTTAWA – The International Skating Union (ISU) has selected four Canadians to take part in their starters course in Enschede, Netherlands, from Oct. 20-23.

The Speed Skating Canada officials are Yvon Bélanger of Saskatoon; Darrell Haack of Kitchener, Ont., Regina’s Michael Makowsky and Hans Terstappen of Calgary.

The course will cover starting procedures, the role and the tasks of starters at championships, World Cups and other major international competitions. The program will also include practical experience as starters at the Holland Cup #1.