Gregg & Duffy win 500 m

Jessica Gregg and Patrick Duffy win 500 metres at National short track team selections

- Edmonton’s Jessica Gregg and Patrick Duffy, Oakville, Ont., were today’s 500-metre champions at the National short track team selections #2 in Montreal.

In a tightly contested women’s final, Gregg won in a time of 44.209 seconds, followed by Andréa Do-Duc of Montreal with the silver medal (44.235) and Valérie Lambert, of Sherbrooke, Que., with bronze (56.490). Caroline Truchon, of Chicoutimi, Que., was demoted to fourth place after receiving a penalty.

Gregg earned 1,000 points in the ranking after leading most of race from the start. Lambert was in second until the last lap when she surged momentarily ahead of Gregg. Truchon, who was in third place, was penalized for interfering with Lambert in the last turn and causing her to fall.

The men’s final mirrored the women’s in change of leads, a fall and penalty. François-Louis Tremblay, of Alma, Que., won the race was penalized for interference after causing Quebec City’s Alexandre St. Jean to fall. St. Jean led from the start, but fell with fewer than two laps to go.

Duffy, who edged ahead of François Hamelin, of Sainte-Julie, Que., at the finish line won in a time of 42.360 seconds and Hamelin crossed in 42.538 seconds. Maxime Gauthier, of Saint-Lambert, Que., was the bronze medalist with a time of 42.653 seconds.

All 24 male and female skaters receive points toward their overall ranking, starting with first place at 1,000 points, second with 816, third 666, fourth 543 points thru to seven points for 24th place.

The selections wrap up Sunday with 1,000 and Super 3,000 metres. The 1,000-metre qualification heats begin at 1:30 p.m. with the finals at 4 p.m. The Super 3,000-metre race will follow with only the top 16 skaters.

This competition, along with the Canadian Open Championships in January, will be used to compile the 2012-13 Canadian rankings and assist in determining the 2013-14 national and development teams and skaters for the Olympic selections in August.