Jacques Grégoire has been named Canada’s top male official by Sports Officials Canada

Jacques Grégoire has been named Canada’s top male official by Sports Officials Canada

Sports Officials Canada announced that speed skating official Jacques Grégoire has been named Canada’s top male official, winning the 2013 SOC Awards of Excellence.

Jacques Grégoire of Montreal has had a tremendous impact in the sport of speed skating over the last 24 years, specifically in his ongoing efforts to continue to be a mentor in the development of up and coming officials of all disciplines. Jacques recognizes the “importance of succession planning for Canadian officials at domestic and international levels of competition, Jacques has been a great mentor for many referees across the Canada,” said Michel Dumont, who mentored under Jacques Gregoire.

Grégoire was added to the International list of referees in 2004, and in 2009 was called to the ISU championship list, and since then, has received no less than three annual assignments to various World Cups and championships. This in itself is a great achievement, and speaks to the respect by the ISU of Grégoire and his skills and expertise.

Since 2006 he has had 13 ISU assignments including six World Cups, three world championships, the 2012 Youth Olympics and several major European events. He has also participated in six ISU Clinics since 2003.

Domestically, he has officiated more than 215 competitions since 1989, averaging 10 or more a season, including the 2007 Canada Winter Games in Whitehorse. His volunteer duties as a clinician and mentor extend not only to the international community, but also provincially and nationally where he has served on numerous officiating committees.

Grégoire have previously been awarded the Speed Skating Canada René Marleau Award (2012), given to a Speed Skating Canada official who has demonstrated meaningful, long-term involvement with a club, region, branch, or the national association, who does an outstanding job of officiating at speed skating meets.

Ted Houghton, chair of SSC’s officials development committee comments, “Jacques' award continues SOC’s recognition of SSC officials including recent winners, Sandra Chenard, Hans Terstappen, Jim McClements and Michel Verrault. ODC is particularly proud of the national recognition these highly qualified SSC officials receive through SOC.”