Le May Doan named to the Order of Canada

By SCOTT DEVEAU, Globe and Mail

Olympic gold medalist Catriona Le May Doan was named among 82 Canadians to the Order of Canada late Monday.

The two-time Olympic gold-medal winning speed skater was named an officer in the Order. Ms. Le May Doan won the gold medal in the 500-metre speed skating event in Nagano, Japan, in 1998, and again in 2002 in Salt Lake City.

Ms. La May Doan currently holds the world record in the 500-metre event. She has broken the record eight times in the span of her career.

She was named alongside late ABC anchorman Peter Jennings, singer Diana Krall, and two Globe and Mail journalists to the Order by Governor General Adrienne Clarkson Monday.

Mr. Jennings, who died of cancer earlier this month, received notice of his call to the Order and accepted it before his death earlier this month.

Mr. Jennings, who spent 45 years as foreign correspondent and anchor for ABC news, made his journalistic debut in his hometown of Toronto at the age of 9, where he began hosting Peter's People in 1947, a weekly half-hour CBC radio show for children.

He went on to become a household name in the U.S. and in Canada, covering such pivotal world events such as the Cuban missile crisis, the assassination of JFK, and the Sept. 11 attacks in New York, where he spent more than 60 hours on air in the ensuing days.

Mr. Jennings was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer in April of this year and died on Aug. 7 at the age of 67.

The Order of Canada, which is handed out biannually, recognizes people from all sectors of society and are awarded for a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

Former winners include, Mordecai Richler, Paul Anka, Peter Gzowski, Deny Arcand, Margaret Atwood, and Michael Ondaatje, among others.

There are three levels to the Order; Companion, Officer, and Member.

Nobel Prize-winning physicist Richard E. Taylor was named as companion to the Order Monday. Mr. Taylor won the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics with his colleagues for a series of experiments that showed that protons and neutrons are not fundamental particles of matter, but are composed of smaller particles known as quarks.

Mr. Jennings was named a member this year, along with Globe and Mail writer Hugh Winsor.

Mr. Winsor began at the Globe in 1969 and remained there, with a brief stint at the CBC to launch the Journal from 1982 to 1984, until his retirement from the Ottawa bureau in 2003.
Globe and Mail columnist Roy McGregor was also named to the order as an officer.

Likewise, Nanaimo-native and renowned jazz-singer Diana Krall was also named an officer in the Order Monday.

Ms. Krall began studying the piano when she was only four, she went on to win several Juno Awards and has seen her records go platinum across Canada and the world.

The new memberships in Order were effective as of June 29, 2005, and those appointed will receive their emblems during a series of private and public ceremonies at Rideau Hall in the coming months.