Morrison, Blondin & Dubreuil to lead 16-member Canadian team for the Speed Skating Long Track World Single Distance Championships, Feb. 12-15, in the Netherlands

Four-time Olympic medalist Denny Morrison as well as 2014-2015 World Cup multimedalists Ivanie Blondin and Laurent Dubreuil will lead a team of 16 skaters at the 2015 ISU Long Track Speed Skating World Single Distance Championships held in Heerenveen, Netherlands, Feb. 12-15.
Morrison of Fort St. John, B.C., willl take part in the 1,000m, 1500m and team pursuit events with Jordan Belchos (Markham, ON) and Ted-Jan Bloemen (Calgary, AB). He will try to repeat his 1,500m gold-medal skates in 2012 in Heerenveen and in 2008 in Nagano, Japan. He has eight individual medals in total on his resume at the World Single Distance Championships. This season, Morrison won one World Cup medal at the 1500m event in Hamar, Norway.
Dubreuil of Lévis, Que., is also confirmed for the 500m at the world championships. He has a silver and three bronze medals so far this season in the 500m. He also posted the fastest 500m time (34.50 seconds) in the world this season at the recent Canadian Single Distance Championships in Calgary.
He’s aiming to win a first Canadian medal in 500m at the World Single Distance Championshps since the gold medal of Jeremy Wotherspoon in 2008 in Nagano, Japan.
Blondin of Ottawa, ON, will compete in the 3,000m, 5,000m, mass start and team pursuit races with Kali Christ (Regina, SK) and Josie Spence (Kamloops, B.C.). Blondin has six medals on the World Cup circuit so far this season — two gold, two silver and a bronze medal in mass start and a bronze in the 5,000m.
In the past weeks, Alec Janssens (Chilliwack, B.C.), Richard Maclennan (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.) and Jessica Gregg (Edmonton, AB) were also added to the Canadian team following their performances at the Hamar and Heerenveen World Cups.
Janssens will take part in the 1500m event, while Maclennan and Gregg will compete in the 1000m races.
Gregg, a 2010 and 2014 Short Track Olympian, is in her first year of international long track speed skating as she made the switch this season.
Since the first edition of the World Single Distance Championships in 1996 in Hamar, Canada has won a total of 68 medals, including 21 gold, 19 silver and 28 bronze, standing third overall behind the Netherlands and Germany.
Morrison is the most successful active athlete with eight individual medals. Kristina Groves and Jeremy Wotherspoon are the top Canadians in the history of this event with nine individual medals each. At the last championships in 2013 in Sochi, Russia — the competition is not held during Olympic years — Christine Nesbitt was the only Canadian medalist with a bronze medal in 1500m.
Broadcasted on CBC and       
Competitions will be webcasted and broadcasted on CBC and following this schedule:

Webcast schedule
Thursday, February 12
11:50 am-3:37 pm (Eastern Time)

Friday, February 13
12 pm-4:07 pm (Eastern Time)

Saturday, February 14
7:15 am-12 pm (Eastern Time)

Sunday, February 15
7:15 am-11:37 pm (Eastern Time)

TV Broadcast schedule
Sunday, February 15
2 pm (Eastern Time)

Saturday, February 28
4 pm (Eastern Time)

Schedule of competition
Thursday, Feb. 12
-Women’s 3000m
-Men’s 10,000m
Friday, Feb. 13
-Women’s 1000m and 5000m
-Men’s 1500m and Team Pursuit
Saturday, Feb. 14
-Women’s 500m (1 and 2) and Team Pursuit
-Men’s 5000m and 1000m
Sunday, Feb. 15
-Women’s 1500m and Mass Start
-Men’s 500m and Mass Start
Canadian team for the World Single Distance Championships Feb. 12-15 in Heerenveen, Netherlands:
-BELCHOS, Jordan (Markham, ON) – Team Pursuit
-BLOEMEN, Ted-Jan (Calgary, AB) - 5000m, 10 000m, Team Pursuit
-De HAÎTRE, Vincent (Cumberland, ON) – 1000m
-DERRAUGH, Tyler (Winnipeg, MB) – Mass Start
-DUBREUIL, Laurent (Lévis, QC) - 500m
-JANSSENS, Alec (Chilliwack, C.-B.) – 1500m
-JUNIO, Gilmore (Calgary, AB) - 500m
-MACLENNAN, Richard (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont) – 1000m
-MORRISON, Denny (Fort St. John, B.C.) – 1000m, 1500m, Team Pursuit      
-WATSON, Robert (Whitby, ON) – Mass Start
-BLONDIN, Ivanie (Ottawa, ON) - 3000m, 5000m, Mass Start, Team Pursuit
-CHRIST, Kali (Regina, SK) – 1000m, 1500m, Mass Start, Team Pursuit
-GREGG, Jessica (Edmonton, AB) – 1000m
-HUDEY, Marsha (White City, SK) - 500m
-McLEAN, Heather (Winnipeg, MB) - 500m
-SPENCE, Josie (Kamloops, B.C.) – 1500m, Team Pursuit
More information, including detailed schedule, can be found on Speed Skating Canada’s website:

About Speed Skating Canada
Speed Skating Canada (SSC) is the governing body for competitive long track and short track speed skating in Canada. Founded in 1887, the association is comprised of 13 provincial and territorial branches representing more than 13,000 individual members, and counting. SSC believes that sport is an apprenticeship for life and prizes respect for others, integrity, excellence of effort, as well as a safe, healthy environment. SSC recognizes and values its outstanding volunteers who give freely of their time and expertise. It also celebrates the 63 Olympic medals won by Canadian athletes since 1932, as well as the coaches, officials and other dedicated individuals who helped them on their journey.

SSC is proud to be affiliated with partners that share the same vision and values including our premium sponsor Intact Insurance, as well as our funding partners, the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, and WinSport Canada.

- 30 -

For information:
Jeff MacKinnon   
Coordinator, Media and Communications Services – long track
Speed Skating Canada
Phone: 403-860-9525

Patrick Godbout
Communications & Media Relations Manager
Speed Skating Canada
Phone: 514 213-9897