Silver & bronze for Canada at short track speed skating World Cup

Jean-François Monette of Pointes-aux-Trembles, Que., earned his first career individual World Cup short track speed skating medal Saturday placing second in the men’s 500 while Amélie-Goulet Nadon of Laval, Que., added a bronze in the women’s race.

In the men’s 500 race, Jiajun Li of China won the gold in 42.703 with Monette, an Olympic team member last season, second in 42.770. Seung-Jae Lee of South Korea was third in 43.483. Takafumi Nishitani of Japan was disqualified.

"My lack of experience showed a bit tonight," said Monette. "It was the first time I faced Jiajun in a final and he has a very different style particularly when he gets the lead. I tried to find an opportunity to pass him but nothing worked. Plus I had to be careful not to lose second place."

Mathieu Turcotte of Sherbrooke, Que., third in the 1,500 Friday, and François-Louis Tremblay of Boucherville, Que., were eliminated in the quarterfinals and ranked 13th and 14th respectively.

In the women’s 500, Tianyu Fu of China was the winner in 45.237, upsetting her compatriot, world and Olympic champion Yang Yang (A) second in 45.279. Goulet-Nadon rebounded from a fall in Friday’s 1,500 final, to snare the bronze in 45.404. She gained the medal position by passing world record holder Evgenia Radanova of Bulgaria on the final turn.

"I’ve improved my passing this year particularly in key moments in a race," said Goulet-Nadon, 19, with her first individual medal this season. "I’ve gained a lot of confidence. I’m getting into finals on a more consistent basis and that’s my goal this season."

Alanna Kraus of Abbotsford, B.C., and 1998 Olympic champion Annie Perreault of Rock Forest, Que., were eliminated in the semifinals and were ranked fifth and eighth.

In the relays, Canada placed second in both the men and women’s semifinals to qualify for the finals. Racing for the men were Monette, Tremblay, Jonathan Guilmette of Montreal and Éric Bédard of Ste-Thècle, Que. For the women Kraus, Goulet-Nadon, Perreault and Tania Vicent of Montreal.

Competition ends Sunday.