Six Athletes To Make Long Track World Cup Debut In Calgary Nov. 8-10

Six Athletes To Make Long Track World Cup Debut In Calgary Nov. 8-10

Photo Credit. Dave Holland

Calgary, October 25, 2013 – Six athletes will make their World Cup debut in long track Speed Skating for Canada when the season opens Nov. 8-10 at the Calgary Olympic Oval, Speed Skating Canada has announced.

Alexandre St-Jean of Quebec City, Heather McLean of Winnipeg, Josie Spence of Kamloops, B.C., Marsha Hudey of Regina, Lauren McGuire of Ottawa and Vincent De Haître of Cumberland, Ont., all earned spots at the Fall World Cup Trials in Calgary last weekend.

McLean and Spence are members of the Olympic Oval program while De Haître and McGuire are with the Speed Skating Canada development team. St-Jean is a recent cross over from the Short Track program, training with the National team program at the Gaétan Boucher National Centre. Hudey trains independently in Calgary.

The entire team will be introduced at a media conference Nov. 6 at the Olympic Oval.

The Calgary event will feature distances of 500m, 1000m, 1500m, 3000m Women’s, 5000m Men and Women’s and Men’s Team Pursuit races.

The first women’s 5000m and men’s 10000m races will be held in Astana, Kazakstan, Nov. 29-Dec. 1. Ivanie Blondin and Brittany Schussler have qualified for Canada in that distance with the potential also for Nicole Garrido to compete.

Jordan Belchos, Lucas Makowsky and Alex Janssens have qualified for the first men’s 10000m, scheduled for Astana.

Speed Skating Canada’s roster for the Nov. 8-10 ISU World Cup:


500m — Christine Nesbitt, Marsha Hudey, Danielle Wotherspoon-Gregg, Kaylin Irvine, Shannon Rempel.

1000m — Christine Nesbitt, Kaylin Irvine, Kali Christ, Brittany Schussler, Heather McLean.

1500m — Christine Nesbitt, Kali Christ, Brittany Schussler, Brianne Tutt, Josie Spence.

3000m — Ivanie Blondin, Brittany Schussler, Lauren McGuire, Brianne Tutt, Nicole Garrido.


500m — Jamie Gregg, William Dutton, Gilmore Junio, Laurent Dubreuil, Alexandre St-Jean.

1000m — Denny Morrison, Jamie Gregg, William Dutton, Gilmore Junio, Tyler Derraugh.

1500m — Denny Morrison, Lucas Makowsky, Richard MacLennan, Mathieu Giroux, Vincent De Haître.

5000m — Lucas Makowsky, Jordan Belchos, Mathieu Giroux.

The Speed Skating ISU World Cups are a series of international speed skating competitions, organised yearly by the ISU since the winter of 1985-86. Skaters earn points at each competition and the skater who has the most points on a given distance at the end of the series is crowned the World Cup champion on that distance. The number of competitions per season per distance varies, but it is usually between seven and ten. Ten World Cup titles are awarded every season, five for men (500m, 1000m, 1500m, combined 5000m and 10000m, and team pursuit), and five for women’s (500m, 1000m, 1500m, combined 3000m and 5000m, and team pursuit).