Speed Skating Canada introduces its 2018-19 Short Track National Teams

Athletes gear up for competition at this weekend’s Canadian Championships in Montreal 

MONTREAL, QUEBEC - Speed Skating Canada is pleased to introduce the athletes who have been named to its Short Track National Teams for 2018-2019, ahead of new season which begins with the Canadian Short Track Championships at the Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal from September 21-23.

A total of 28 skaters have been named to the Senior National Team or Development Team based on their performances last season. They will aim to beat the 26 medals won at World Cups and the World Championships last season, and to build on the success from last year’s World Junior Championships, where the women’s team won the first ever relay gold for Canada.

The Senior National Team will be led by 2018 Olympic medalists Kim Boutin, Samuel Girard, Charles Hamelin, Charle Cournoyer and Pascal Dion, who together captured five medals in PyeongChang. They are joined by World Championship medalists Kasandra Bradette and Jamie Macdonald, and World Junior Championship triple medalist Courtney Sarault.

The National Team is rounded out by Cédrik Blais, Steven Dubois and Audrey Phaneuf. Valérie Maltais, a three-time Olympian who qualified for the National Team, has transitioned to long track speed skating this fall. She will continue to receive support as a carded member of the Team for this season.

Alyson Charles, Danaé Blais and Claudia Gagnon, who captured the gold medal with Sarault at the World Junior Championships, were named to this season’s Development Team. A total of seven skaters – Mathieu Bernier, Léa Chamberland-Dostie, Brendan Corey, Keil Hillis, Marc-Olivier Lemay, Jordan Pierre-Gilles and Léa Tessier – join the National Teams for the first time this season. The Development Team is completed by Keegan Christ, Camille De Serres-Rainville, Alison Desmarais, Sébastien Gagnon, Maxime Laoun and Renee Steenge.

Athletes on the National Team train at the National Centre at Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal, while receiving specialized services and support from Sport Canada.

Members of the 2018-2019 Senior National Team

  • BLAIS, Cédrik (Châteauguay, QC)
  • BOUTIN, Kim (Sherbrooke, QC)
  • BRADETTE, Kasandra (Saint-Félicien, QC)
  • COURNOYER, Charle (Boucherville, QC)
  • DION, Pascal (Montréal, Rivière-des-Prairies - Pointe-aux-Trembles borough, QC)
  • DUBOIS, Steven (Lachenaie, QC)
  • GIRARD, Samuel (Ferland-et-Boilleau, QC)
  • HAMELIN, Charles (Sainte-Julie, QC)
  • MACDONALD, Jamie (Fort St. James, BC)
  • MALTAIS, Valérie (Saguenay, La Baie borough, QC)
  • PHANEUF, Audrey (Saint-Hyacinthe, QC)
  • SARAULT, Courtney (Moncton, NB)          

Members of the 2018-2019 Development Team

  • BERNIER, Mathieu (Montréal, Rivière-des-Prairies - Pointe-aux-Trembles borough, QC)
  • BLAIS, Danaé (Châteauguay, QC)
  • CHAMBERLAND-DOSTIE, Léa (Trois-Rivières, QC)
  • CHARLES, Alyson (Montréal, Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension borough, QC)
  • CHRIST, Keegan (Regina, SK)
  • COREY, Brendan (Fredericton, NB)
  • DE SERRES-RAINVILLE, Camille (Montréal, Rosemont - La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)
  • DESMARAIS, Alison (Vanderhoof, BC)
  • GAGNON, Claudia (Saguenay, La Baie borough, QC)
  • GAGNON, Sébastien (Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC)
  • HILLIS, Keil (Calgary, AB)
  • LAOUN, Maxime (Montréal, Rosemont - La Petite-Patrie borough, QC)
  • LEMAY, Marc-Olivier (Montréal, Rivière-des-Prairies - Pointe-aux-Trembles borough, QC)
  • PIERRE-GILLES, Jordan (Sherbrooke, QC)
  • STEENGE, Renee (Brampton, ON)
  • TESSIER, Léa (Blainville, QC)