Speed Skating Canada Wins Big at 37th Canadian Sport Awards

Speed Skating Canada (SSC) was well represented at yesterday's 37th Canadian Sport Awards, in Toronto. The awards were presented to the top athletes, leaders and sponsors for 2009. Christine Nesbitt (London, ON) was named Female Athlete of the Year, while Marianne St-Gelais (St-Félicien, QC) took the Junior Athlete of the Year title. Nesbitt, Kristina Groves (Ottawa, ON) and Brittany Schussler (Winnipeg, MB), members of the Team Pursuit, were named Partners of the Year and Intact Insurance received the Corporate Excellence Award, recognizing the outstanding support of the corporation for amateur sports. Charles Hamelin (Ste-Julie, QC) was also in nomination in the Male Athlete of the Year category, but the award went to snowboarder Jasey-Jay Anderson.