Officials Certification Program

The Officials Certification Program (OCP) consists of five (5) levels for Referees and Starters and three (3) levels for Competitor Stewards, Meet Coordinators, Timers, Finish Line Judges, Announcers, Recorders, and all other Officials. Each level has specific technical, practical and performance requirements.

  • The technical requirements include attendance at a clinic of the appropriate level (please refer to specific certification requirements).
  • The practical requirements include officiating at the appropriate number of non-sanctioned and sanctioned competitions (please refer to specific certification requirements) as either an Assistant or Chief Official.
  • The performance requirements include a satisfactory evaluation from the Chief Official or senior P/TSO Official, a documented recommendation from the P/TSO and a review and approval from the P/TSO and/or the Officials Development Committee (ODC).

Requirements for certification are as follows:

  • a) Certification at Levels 1 and 2 is the responsibility of the P/TSO. Certification should follow the OCP requirements.
  • b) Certification at Levels 3B (SSC sanctioned meets) and 3A (National Age Class Championships / Junior Selections) is the responsibility of SSC.
  • c) Certification at Level ISU International (International Competitions, including ISU sanctioned Can-Am competitions, Senior Selections) and Level ISU (World Cups, World Championships and Olympic Games) is the responsibility of both SSC and the ISU.

To view Specific Certification requirements (PDF Document):

  • Referees and Starters (Levels 1, 2, 3B, 3A, ISU International and ISU)
  • Competitors Stewards (Levels ISU International and ISU)
  • Meet Coordinators (Levels 1, 2, 3)
  • Recorders, Timers, Finish Line Judges, Announcers, and all other Officials (Levels 1, 2 and 3)

Application to Upgrade Forms

Upgrade from Level 3B to 3A

Upgrade to Level 3